- Phone: 01254 671770 or
Kings Court - The History
King Street was originally known as Sudell Street, which was named after the great cotton magnate Henry Sudell. The street was renamed King Street after King George III defeated Napoleon in 1815. In its time King Street was the proudest Georgian Street in East Lancashire. A vibrant and lively thoroughfare, it was renowned as the hub of Blackburn. The once grand family houses are now home to thriving businesses.
Kings Court - The Building
The building began as the Blackburn Assembly rooms in 1804 and was used on important occasions such as the King’s birthday and celebrations following the Battle of Waterloo, as well as a courthouse. Later it was a hotel and coaching house. In 1851, 33 King St was the original Town Hall of Blackburn with the first mayor, William Henry Hornby being installed there. All Council meetings were held in the building before the present Town Hall was built.
- HALF PRICE offer ends 31st DECEMBER! » read more
- LAST CHANCE FOR Christmas at the Courthouse » read more
- Support the East Lancashire Deaf Society » read more
- Day office? » read more
- Conference Rooms » read more
- Kings Court - FACEBOOK !! » read more